Skip to content

March 15, First Official Posting

Well today is the first day of the rest of my life as they say. 1 year older and trying out the ” Blog ” thing, I am hopeful this will make it easier for me to keep in contact while I am here in Shenzhen, as well as document some of this experience. Currently sitting on the new chair we bought online so I can work here without becoming a cripple. It’s a great improvement over the one we “borrowed” from Fanny’s office when I arrived.that one seemed to look OK but definitely was not made for Western size people.

( and in truth I did bounce around a bit on it :).
In the end was a bit of a question whether it would collapse before the job was finished.

Not to bad for 350 RMB, thats around $60 US bucks, I plan to address the work station situation but for now this will work. Getting therapeutic massage between jobs helps to overcome the damage caused by an improper work station but only just…

My new chair

The current work set up is usable for now, if we stay here much longer will move to a larger apartment with a dedicated studio room as I am now monopolizing the living room.

I have been  pleasantly  surprised with just how well my laptop is handling the load, but as I am seeing more 3D in the future a tower will be in order. That will mean an addition to the desk as well to hold my monitor, Cintiq etc… most likely will go with a large screen HD TV like I use back in the states.

working on the couch

When I first arrived in Shenzhen this time I was happy to have work waiting for me, ( Commercial Set Design ) however as you can see there was nowhere to work, so you make do. I paid the price for this short coming with a seriously messed up lower back. As soon as gig was done it was off to shop for a real desk. Was able to get a quite serviceable unit delivered to the 11th floor for under $100 US. That combined with decent chair makes for much happier camper.

Ni Hao ( Nee How )

Ni Hao, Kai Lan is a character from a children’s television series, she lives on the shelf near my desk mostly to entertain my young nephew and niece through the magic of video on Skype. According to Wikipedia Ni Hao, Kai-lan introduces its viewers to the Mandarin Chinese language, along with elements of Chinese culture and values, multiculturalism (through the diverse backgrounds of Kai-lan’s friends), and intergenerational families (e.g., Kai-lan and her relationship with Ye Ye). I just think she is cute…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

